Welcome to the PMA
- Auckland -
Primary Mathematics Association

Contact Primary Mathematics Association

Primary Mathematics AssociationContact The Primary Mathematics Association

We are all enthusiastic volunteers who are passionate about mathematics learning, especially in primary schools. However, we are also all in fulltime employment in schools, universities or other educational fields, so we are constantly juggling the many demands upon us.

Here are some brief introductions for our main contacts.

President - Megan Clune

Megan Clune is a Professional Teaching Fellow at the University of Auckland, lecturing in mathematics, science and technology education. Previously an Assistant Principal, Megan has always had a passion for mathematics and holds a master’s degree in mathematics education. Her areas of interest include: mathematics curriculum change, student engagement in mathematics, and all aspects of digital technologies.


  President- Megan Clune

Vice-president- Robbie Perreau

Robbie Perreau is the Deputy Principal at Bucklands Beach Intermediate School, having previously worked within the foundation leadership team of Kauri Flats School in Takanini. Robbie is passionate about making maths accessible to all students. As a lifelong learner, he is keen to engage with maths professionals to extend his learning within mathematics and work towards helping teachers become more comfortable with their maths pedagogies.


  Vice-president- Robbie Pereau

Treasurer- Jo Patrick van den Heuvel

Jo Patrick (Dip Tchng, MEd (Hons)) is an Associate Principal at Long Bay Primary School. She has had a long passion for and involvement in mathematics education professional development, spending 8 years as an advisor of mathematics education and numeracy facilitator. She has been a committee member of the Primary Mathematics Association since 1996.


  Treasurer- Jo Patrick

Secretary- Jo Knox

Jo Knox has been involved in mathematics education for more than twenty years as a classroom teacher and leader, a specialist mathematics teacher and mathematics facilitator. She is currently an independent Ministry of Education accredited maths education consultant for her company Maths Development. She is also working on her doctorate at the University of Auckland, researching how to engage primary school students in mathematical proving activity. Jo has been an active committee member for PMA for over ten years.

  Secretary - Jo Knox

Other committee members:

Vanitha Govini Anne Milburn Helen Walters Viv Mallabar Pamela Perger
Angela Spavin Gail Ledger Carolyn Crow Toni Cassrels Linda Cheeseman
Anuja Singh Margi Leach Ingrid Cheung Bina Kachwalla Sue Pine
Fiona Fox Marie Hirst      



* These fields are required.